Appreciative Moment

As I sit here watching the snow fall with my husband, he sparked a memory for both of us.  We are both form the midwest.  Before we moved here to Virginia, we both had jobs we went to, even if there was a snowstorm  AND IT WAS FUN!!  Of course it fun, because we were in our 20’s and 30’s.  I do remember starting my car up 10 minutes before it was time to leave, using a broom (yes, broom) to push the snow off my car.  As I drove to work, my radio blared with great upbeat 80’s music.  Once I arrived, I was grateful to be inside and grab a hot cup of coffee.

Today I am appreciating the day off, as I sit here with my hot cup of coffee, watching the snow fall.  I am thinking of those who HAVE to go to work, and I hope they make it in safe, and their trip home is the same.  I have a dear friend who has to take her sister to a very important dr. appointment for a biopsy.  I am praying they both are doing well during this stressful time in their lives.

My whole family gets to spend the day together today.  Already made some cinnamon rolls (Pillsbury, not home-made) for breakfast, so the house smells like a wonderful winter lodge.  Creamy tomato soup with grilled cheese sammies are for lunch.  This afternoon will be fun, as we all go out and clear the driveway together.  My teenage daughters help the neighbors clear the snow from the sidewalks.  This is probably (and hopefully) our last snowfall for the season.  Instead of dreading it, I am going to hang in the moment.  If you have some snow, hope you stay safe and warm.  🙂

One thought on “Appreciative Moment

Leave a Reply

